top of page
Search
  • schmit741

Sketchnote Brainstorm

Updated: Apr 13, 2021


In my classroom and in my MAET program, sketchnote style videos are something I watch frequently. I have always found the combination of the text, pictures and audio very easy to understand. This allows me to comprehend what is being presented. I was challenged to make a sketchnote style video for CEP 812 and was shocked by how difficult it was for me to create my first ever sketchnote (see final product below...this was my fifth take!).

The process of creating a sketchnote was an arduous task. To start the process, I needed to fully understand how I was going to present the information I wanted to share. In the sketchnote I created, I brainstormed how to sort questions I asked during a Quickfire. In order to be able to quickly describe my process, I created a script and set things within easy reach so I could access tools necessary during the recording. I found drawing, talking, sorting, and writing all at the same time to be tough. I was unable to read my script and write at the same time, all while trying to draw a picture. I feel, had I had an additional person helping to draw or write while I spoke, I would have been able to create a higher quality sketchnote.

The process of creating a sketchnote was very beneficial because I needed to fully understand the content that I was presenting. I think students in my classroom would thoroughly enjoy creating these and they could serve as an assessment. Knowing now how it would have been advantageous to have an additional person I think students could create these in groups or individually allowing students to select roles that would highlight their strengths.


Sources Cited:


Vujea, K. (2021, March 28). Questioning Brainstorm Sort. Loom. https://www.loom.com/share/df4afacffcc1451793e46c3412a7c614


Vujea, K. (2021a, March 24). Creating Beautiful Questions. Loom. https://schmit741.wixsite.com/website-1/post/creating-beautiful-questions



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page