top of page
Search
  • schmit741

I Think I Can!


What a start to the 2021-2022 school year this has been. This year should seem like a breeze: I am teaching only 5th grade, I have a student teacher, I have a wonderful group of students and we start a half hour later than in the past. BUT...this feels like the hardest year since I was a newbie teacher. While talking with other teachers both in my building and via social media we all agree, this year has been hard and it’s only the beginning of November. After the past two years I expected this year to be easier. What’s changed? Everything! Everything is constantly changing and we are expected to pivot on a moment's notice. I constantly have students out due to Covid-19 which means I am teaching students in the building and students who are quarantining. There are many elements this year that are out of my control. Which means everything feels harder. So what can I do about it? I’m trying to keep as many routines in place as possible in both my classroom and my personal life. I try to work out on a daily basis and eat healthy. I talk a lot with my students about how they are feeling and keep a pulse on the well being of the classroom. I pray, wish, hope, dream that this year will eventually feel easier but until then...I’ll keep repeating The Little Engine That Could’s motto: I think I can, I think I can.



Photo Credit: Kelly Vujea




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page