top of page
Search
  • schmit741

I'm Sewing!

Updated: Apr 28, 2021


Video Created by Kelly Vujea


I’ve been learning how to sew! As I previously blogged, I had a sewing machine gathering dust and now I’m learning to use it. My goal is to create an outfit for my daughter’s American Girl Doll. Have you seen the cost of these outfits? They are adorable but the cost is outrageous! In learning to sew, I am only using information that I can find online; meaning I cannot ask for in-person help from a friend. Finding information via online sources has been a challenge but I’ve read blog posts, watched YouTube videos, looked on social media and reddit. I started this process by watching videos on how to simply use my machine. After I learned how to sew a straight line, and mend my daughter’s favorite sweatshirt that had split at the zipper seam, I started to look into making doll clothing. I looked on social media, reddit and blog posts to find tips on sewing doll clothing and easy patterns to use. When researching, I’ve felt that using videos was the best learning tool for me because I was able to visually see someone using a machine, and I was also able to stop the video or rewatch parts that were unclear to me. In learning to catch the bobbin thread, I had to watch, rewind, watch, rewind, watch, rewind multiple times. I’m not a master seamstress, nor do I think I ever will be, but maybe one day I’ll be competent enough to make clothing for my girls and not just their dolls.






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page