top of page
Search
  • schmit741

A Comprehensive Study: Encouraging Risk Taking in Elementary Students

Throughout CEP 812, I learned about ways others have found solutions to problems. The end goal of CEP 812 was to initiate a question, produce a plan to answer the question and then create a product to show results. To start the process of creating a question, I was challenged to participate in a Quick Fire creating a list of questions. I generated a large list of questions; some being surface level questions that could be answered with a quick google search or asking a peer while others were questions that would take considerable time and resources to answer. After narrowing down the questions, I settled on one Wicked Question: How can I encourage students to take risks and not worry about being wrong but learn along the way?


To answer this question, I began by learning about survey design. After I acquired new knowledge of survey design, I constructed an in depth survey to help gain insight on my wicked question. I asked the students in my current classroom to help me solve my wicked question through participating in the survey. Using the results I collected from the students, and research I conducted, I drafted a letter to my principal detailing a plan to implement in my classroom. The plan included allowing students to take district assessments and then revise their responses with a peer. Click here to check out the entire plan detailing my proposal to increase risk taking in the classroom.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page